Responsibility = bane of my existence

There’s a lot the word ‘responsibility’ entails.

What does it make you think of? It makes me think of homework, of school, of life in general. Everyday has responsibility. It’s your responsibility to get out of bed in the morning for school. It’s your responsibility to do whatever your day gives you, to do whatever needs to be done.

Responsibility-

a form of trustworthiness; the trait of being answerable to someone for something or being responsible for one’s conduct.

That’s a pretty good definition, right? But here we go, the reason for this post, my take on the word.

Responsibility.

It could mean a lot more. Is it your responsibility to keep things all bottled up inside, to keep your thoughts or feelings from scaring or scaring others?

Is it your responsibility to keep thoughts that could change someone else’s views to yourself?

Is it you responsibility to take care of things, just because no one else will?

This has been bothering me. I’ve been asked to shut up, and the answer to my question (“Why should I be quiet?”) was, “It’s your responsibility.”

And when I was told to do something that I’d never in my wildest dreams ever imagined doing, it was because, “It’s your responsibility.”

Screw responsibility. I’m going to be a teenager, and that being a teenager entails. I’m going to be unruly and rude and throw fits when necessary. (Hopefully not that often, though… I don’t particularly like throwing fits.)

I’m going to be the sixteen year old girl that I am. And you can’t stop me.

Take your damn responsibility and shove it.

Leave a Reply

